Formed from part of Baker County, Mitchell County was created on December 21, 1857, by an act of the Georgia legislature and is the state's 123rd county. Camilla, the county seat, was incorporated on December 14, 1858. 

Three other incorporated cities lie within Mitchell County's 512 square miles: Baconton, Pelham, and Sale City. According to the 2010 U.S. census, the county had a population of 23,498.

The old Mitchell County Sheriff's Office

(previously located on Harney Street in Camilla behind the Court House)

The Mitchell County Courthouse, built in 1936, is well known for its architecture and construction from beautiful white Georgia marble.